What are Vegan Capsules Made Of?

Vegan capsules have become a much-preferred alternative by health-conscious people nowadays. Aside from allowing those with dietary restrictions to fully enjoy the wonderful benefits of ingredients that make up the supplement, these capsules are easier to swallow and break down more quickly in the digestive system.

For business owners, the preference for vegan capsules is also good news. Supplement formulation among capsules remains intact and well-protected in its two-piece enclosures – enhancing the product’s efficacy. Most importantly, it requires low-cost production.

Now, if you are a business owner who’s planning to add capsule supplements to your catalog, it is inevitable that you have to choose between vegetable and gelatin capsules. While both are well-received by the current market, as a conscious brand owner you have to know that gelatin capsule shells are usually of animal origin1. Hence, if you would want to cater to your vegan consumers, most likely, you have to go for the vegan-friendly option.

Vegan Capsule vs. Gelatin Capsule

To make it easier to understand, let’s identify the key difference between vegan capsules and gelatin capsules. While they both appear nearly identical, there are some definite distinctions that you have to know of as a business owner – to ensure the safety, potency, and integrity of your products.

While the demand for vegan capsules is progressing, by far, the most popular and broadly used capsule material at present is gelatin. Gelatin comes from livestock, particularly from the bovine hooves, hides, and bones. These animal parts are boiled to produce a gel-like substance: collagen. After a great deal of refining process, gelatin is then made – the primary ingredient for gelatin capsules.

Of course, knowing these, people who are living a vegan lifestyle avoid these kinds of products. As an alternative, vegetarian capsules are utilized instead of gelatin. As these are plant-based, these capsules dissolve more quickly – allowing the body to absorb the nutrients and essential minerals encapsulated

What are Vegan Liquid Capsules Made Of?

Vegetarian liquid capsules are typically made of either of the two: vegetable cellulose or tapioca roots. The most commonly used vegan liquid capsule is the HPMC plant cap (Hydroxypropyl Methylcellulose). This type of cellulose often comes from softwood trees, like pine, spruce, and fir. These vegan capsules are biodegradable, free from preservatives, gluten-free, water-soluble, and of course, free from animal by-products.

Interestingly, these vegan capsules can also be utilized for liquid content. These thin capsule walls can be designed to disintegrate quickly to promote the quick utilization of the capsule’s content like whole plant hemp extract blended in organic, cold-pressed hemp seed oil. Yes, aside from health supplements, you can now include Full Spectrum hemp extract with 50mg CBD per liquid vegetable capsule. With the beneficial contents of the hemp plant, such as terpenes, traces of vitamins and minerals, antioxidants, flavonoids, and essential fatty acids, the intake of these liquid vegan capsules may contribute to the overall wellness of the consumer.

Where to Find Vegan Capsule Manufacturer?

If you are looking for a reliable capsule manufacturer in the US, don’t hesitate to contact The Omnium Group now. As a conscious private label manufacturing company, The Omnium Group is capable of producing vegetarian liquid capsules that are third-party laboratory tested, vegan, organic, and certified by HACCP for food safety.

The Omnium Group has cGMP-certified and FDA-registered facilities capable of producing high-quality vegan capsules that would best suit your consumers. If you already have a formula in mind, our team of expertly-trained professionals would be happy to work with you in the product formulation and development of your health supplement and vegan liquid capsule.

For more information about vegetarian liquid capsules and capsule manufacturing, read here.


1 Prakash A, Soni H, Mishra A, Sarma P. Are your capsules vegetarian or nonvegetarian: An ethical and scientific justification. Indian J Pharmacol. 2017;49(5):401-404. doi:10.4103/ijp.IJP_409_17

Scroll to Top